Doña Ana County


County Commissioners - District 3

Shannon Reynolds

District 3 Commissioner
Department Head: 
Shannon Reynolds
845 N Motel Blvd
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88007
(575) 525-5807 (Office)
(575) 339-5819 (Cell)
(575) 525-5812
(575) 525-5951
Phone: (575) 525-5807 (Office)
(575) 339-5819 (Cell)
Fax: (575) 525-5812
TDD: (575) 525-5951

County Commissioners - District 3

Shannon Reynolds won the election to the District 3 seat in November of 2018. He took office on Jan. 1, 2019, and he will be eligible to seek re-election in 2022.
District 3 encompasses a large sector of southeastern Doña Ana County including Las Alturas, Telshor, Foothills, the Talavera, University Hills and Bellamah neighborhoods, NMSU, White Sands Missile Range, and Tortugas. Vietnam Era USAF Veteran, 1975-1979.  General Engineering Degree from the University of Illinois.

Commissioner Reynolds has more than 40 years of industry management and training knowledge experience that inform his decisions and guidance to the county.  He worked at Novell from 1981 to 1987 as Partner Systems Engineer, and Teaching Assistant at the University of Illinois.  He then joined IBM in Las Cruces, as Academic Information Systems Engineer from 1987-1990, before taking on the role of Partner Technical Manager at EMC Corp., until 2009, when he retired.

He also served as City Councilman for Milford, Ohio, from 2004 to 2006.  Later, he served as International Student Exchange Director for Cincinnati Public Schools’ Taiwan Student Exchange Program, from 2013 to 2015.

He garnered various awards for teaching in Switzerland, Great Britain, Germany, Mexico and major cities throughout the United States and Canada.  Commissioner Reynolds holds the following certifications: NM Edge Certified Public Official, NM Edge Certified County Commissioner, and NM Edge Certification in Advocate for Public Ethics.